Original Print Collection

FAPE’s oldest program is the Lee Kimche McGrath Original Print Collection. Named in honor of FAPE’s Founding Director, each year a distinguished American artist donates an edition of original prints for display in U.S. embassies. The Collection began in 1989, and since that time, John Baldessari, Louisiana Bendolph, Mary Lee Bendolph, Loretta Bennett, Vija Celmins, Chuck Close, Frank Gehry, Jasper Johns, Alex Katz, Ellsworth Kelly, Jeff Koons, Roy Lichtenstein, Glenn Ligon, Robert Mangold, Sylvia Plimack Mangold, Brice Marden, Julie Mehretu, Elizabeth Murray, Loretta Pettway, Robert Rauschenberg, James Rosenquist, Susan Rothenberg, Ed Ruscha, Joel Shapiro, Wayne Thiebaud, Frank Stella, and Terry Winters have all made prints for the Collection.

Some of the country’s leading printmaking workshops have donated the printing of various artists’ portfolios. Gemini G.E.L.LLC contributed the publishing of the John Baldessari, Roy Lichtenstein, Frank Gehry, EIIsworth Kelly, Julie Mehretu, Elizabeth Murray, Susan Rothenberg, Ed Ruscha, Joel Shapiro and Terry Winters editions. Paulson Press provided the plate-making and proofing of the Gee’s Bend prints. Tyler Graphics Limited donated the printing of Frank Stella’s work, and Simmelink Sukimoto donated the printing of Vija Celmins’ edition.

Subscribe to our newsletter