Annenberg Award

In April 2008, FAPE established the Leonore and Walter Annenberg Award for Diplomacy through the Arts to honor distinguished American individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in furthering global understanding of the United States. Honorees must demonstrate long-term excellence and innovation in the exchange of creativity and ideas that represent the rich and diverse culture of the U.S.

The official Award was designed and contributed by preeminent American artist, Ellsworth Kelly. Carlson Arts LLC donated the fabrication costs. Takaaki Matsumoto donated the design of the Award’s base.


FAPE honored Frank Gehry with the 2016 Leonore and Walter Annenberg Award for diplomacy through the Arts in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to our country’s rich artistic tradition. Frank Gehry, who is known for his choice of unusual materials, as well as his architectural philosophy, has designed some of the world’s most iconic buildings from the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, to the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, California, to the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris, France. His distinctive, organic aesthetic has made Mr. Gehry one of the most recognizable architects of the 21st Century.

“We are thrilled to be honoring Mr. Gehry, one of the world’s greatest living architects, with our eighth annual Annenberg Award. For more than five decades, his innovation, vision, and boldness of spirit in the field of architecture has been a profound inspiration. His architectural contributions have had a significant impact, not only on the world of architecture, but on culture and humanity on a global scale,” said FAPE Chairman Jo Carole Lauder.

Press release →

FAPE Chairman Jo Carole Lauder, FAPE Board member and Executive Director of the Ellsworth Kelly Foundation Jack Shear, architect Frank Gehry, 2016 Annenberg Award honoree, and Secretary of State John Kerry. 


<<     >>

Subscribe to our newsletter