Annenberg Award

In April 2008, FAPE established the Leonore and Walter Annenberg Award for Diplomacy through the Arts to honor distinguished American individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in furthering global understanding of the United States. Honorees must demonstrate long-term excellence and innovation in the exchange of creativity and ideas that represent the rich and diverse culture of the U.S.

The official Award was designed and contributed by preeminent American artist, Ellsworth Kelly. Carlson Arts LLC donated the fabrication costs. Takaaki Matsumoto donated the design of the Award’s base.


I. M. Pei was honored with the 2012 Annenberg Award for his extraordinary contributions as an architect. Not only has Mr. Pei designed some of the world’s most recognizable buildings, which have enriched the lives of so many people, he is one of our nation’s most important cultural diplomats. Through his scholarship fund for Chinese students to study architecture in the United States, he promotes a cross cultural exchange between our two countries.

Press release →

I. M. Pei

Sandi Pei, Beatrice Pei, Karyn Pei, Didi Pei, Eileen Pei and I. M. Pei, 2012 recipient of the Annenberg Award. Photo by Mary Hilliard, courtesy of FAPE.

<< >>

Subscribe to our newsletter